Monday Night Dinner

So this week is a Vegetarian week. I often go through these periods where I remove meat and just do a week of pure veggies! I have found ways to make my family love it so I’m sharing it with you.

Tonight’s dinner is Oven Baked Vegetarian Samosas. I know it sounds complicated but all it basically is a potato pie. That’s it, add the veggies you want and make it your own.

This is the potato mixture

Finished product, I used whole wheat flour to make my dough

So here is my receipe, you feel free to alter as you like but it took me about 45 minutes to make.  Now that’s give or take if you’re making your own crust, if you have pieces already ready and if you make it from start to finish without getting distracted.  This is a great hand held meal.

I make my own pie crust but feel free to purchase yours if you wish. I’ve been using whole wheat flour so that explains why my crusts are really brown.

Ingredients:

  • 2 potatos, peeled and diced
  • salt to taste
  • 1 bag of mixed vegetables
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pepper
  • 1/4 -1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 egg beaten with a splash of water

You take the potatoes and boil like you are making mashed potatoes. Once they are tender drain water from them and place them back in the same pot you boiled them in.  Then take your seasonings and bagged veggies and add in kinda smashing them as you go.  Once that’s done add a bit of chicken broth to moisten it and you’re done.

When that mixture is complete begin taking your pie crust and cut to your desired shape, if you have a cookie cutter even better. I didn’t so I had to cut mine out.  Fill with a tablespoon of the mixture, seal  the edges, then brush with the egg wash mixture.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, let cool for a minute or two then enjoy.  You can make it with a salad or just eat alone.

Great quick meal. You can add or subtract from it as you see fit, play around with the seasonings.

I hope you and your family enjoy this filling and yummy vegetarian recipe.  Tomorrow West African Vegetable Stew.

Love and Blessings

Charmaine

Leave a Reply

