New Updates 4-27-2013

This week has been a super crazy week for us.  My son’s school was on lockdown for the second time this year (http://www.mlive.com/news/detroit/index.ssf/2013/04/gunfire_in_harper_woods_leads.html) and he had seizures this week, 3 on Thursday, 4 on Friday and 2 today.  They appear to be tonic-clonic seizures(http://www.epilepsyfoundation.org/livingwithepilepsy/parentsandcaregivers/parents/infants/tonicclonic.cfm)

Which is more information than what the neurologist has ever given me.  If that is the case then the medication that he is on is not going to help (not like it really was anyway). So I’m looking into some natural methods to help him.  Other than the seizures he has been doing quite well but he we have a lot of work that we will be doing over the summer.

Jai Lynn has been doing……great as far as being able to verbalize and converse with us.  Today was very memorable.  She has a difficult time regulating her voice and she is not good with inflections and all that human stuff that we do.  She doesn’t get that smacking her lips or moaning are inappropriate behavior. Long story short, she got very upset  tonight because she was redirected by dad and it wasn’t “nice”. So, she begun to cry. So I seperated them (not literally  and I went into her room and we talked.  I gave her re-affirming statements to repeat, “I am beautiful, I am smart, I am loved” then I had her to tell me two things that she was thankful for today and she said that I made sandwiches and that she had a chocolate covered strawberries.  And that got her to smile, telling me what she’s thankful for always gets her to smile.  Once she calmed down she and dad made up and all was right with the world.  After dad left the room she and I talked for a minute.

She said “I have to worry about myself mom” and I told her yes that that her brothers where not her responsibility to care for and that she didn’t need to feel the need to always be concerned about what they did or didn’t do because mom or dad would always find out. Plus, she was a great big sister that loved and cared for her brothers and that she is doing a great job.

This summer with her I think social awareness skills and self-esteem are going to be on the top for learning this summer for her.

This is why I am homeschooling next year because although she’s learning academics (loosely) the social piece is…somewhat lacking.  She mainly has issues with self esteem and some depression.  I take ownership in some of the mental struggles that shes having, because I was having them also and I am working on them now.  So as I build myself up I build her up.  I want her to learn lessons now and not take 30 some odd years to get it.  That is way I am thankful that I am on this journey, I was meant to go on it now.  I’m happy that she and I are doing it together because it gives me the opportunity to be a true example.

So that is what is going on with us as of late.  I’m getting my cards ready for Mother’s Day and Graduation’s, I have vendor shows coming up so I am a very busy girl.

Until next time

Charmaine

One thought on “New Updates 4-27-2013

  1. Maxautism says:

    I have a theory about the seizures, just a theory mind you. I believe the tamarind/kelp combo has raised the immune system. However I don’t think the immune system is quite capable of handling whatever is in our children. I believe the pathogens are responding to being attacked and is now fighting aggressively for its survival. Therefore in the new drink I have added horopito and oregano oil to level the playing field. Can’t wait to get your babies on the new drink, I believe they will get even greater healing.

Leave a Reply

